2016 Indspire Awards

Gala to be held in Vancouver on February 12, 2016

TORONTO, Sept. 15, 2015 /CNW/ – Indspire, the largest non-governmental funder of Indigenous education, announced today the names of 14 outstanding Indigenous Canadians who have been selected as recipients of the 2016 Indspire Awards: Celebrating Indigenous Achievement.

The 2016 Indspire Awards recipients are as follows:

Lifetime Achievement: Chief Robert Joseph – Gwawaaenuk First Nation – BC
Arts: Joseph Boyden – Métis – Ontario
Business & Commerce: Clint Davis – Inuit – Nunatsiavut
Culture, Heritage, & Spirituality: Elder Mae Louise Campbell – Ojibwa/Saulteaux – Manitoba
Culture, Heritage, & Spirituality: Chief Jim Ochiese – Foothills Ojibway First Nation – Alberta
Education: Jo-Ann Episkenew – Métis – Saskatchewan
Health: Pat Mandy – Mississaugas of the New Credit – Ontario
Law & Justice: Mark Stevenson – Métis – British Columbia
Politics: Michael Kanentakeron Mitchell – Mohawk – Ontario
Public Service: Leonard George – Tsleil-waututh Nation – British Columbia
Sports: Carey Price – Ulkatcho First Nation – British Columbia
Youth – First Nation: Christian Kowalchuk – Big Stone Cree Nation – Alberta
Youth – Inuit: Laura Arngna’naaq – Baker Lake, Nunavut
Youth – Métis: Zondra Roy – Saskatchewan

“The 2016 Indspire Awards recipients personify the successes Indigenous people have achieved and the significant impact we have made in all areas of life in Canada,” said Roberta L. Jamieson, President and CEO of Indspire and Executive Producer of the Indspire Awards. “We also salute the future, through our three youth recipients, each of whom serves as a role model, inspiring young Indigenous people across the country.”

The 2016 Indspire Awards gala will be held on February 12, 2016 at the Queen Elizabeth Theatre in Vancouver. For tickets, please call 416.987.0250 or 1.855.INDSPIRE (463.7747) x228. Tickets can also be purchased online at indspire.ca/tickets or by emailing ticketsales@indspire.ca.

The gala ceremony will air at a later date on Global Television and the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN), the returning exclusive broadcast partners.

Indspire gratefully acknowledges the support of CIBC as Presenting Corporate Sponsor and Shell Canada Ltd. as Indigenous Youth Sponsor of the 2016 Indspire Awards.

“CIBC has been proud to be the presenting corporate sponsor of the Indspire Awards since their inception to celebrate the significant contributions of Indigenous people,” says Victor Dodig, President and CEO, CIBC. “On behalf of our team at CIBC, congratulations to this year’s recipients, who are an inspiration to us all and incredible role models for Indigenous youth.”

The Indspire Awards, the highest honour bestowed by Indigenous people on their own achievers, have celebrated the significant contributions of Indigenous people in Canada for 23 years. The Indspire Awardsrecognize the success of individuals who have the discipline, drive, and determination to set high standards and accomplish their goalsThey promote self-esteem and pride for the Indigenous community and provide outstanding role models for Indigenous youth.

The jury for the Indspire Awards is composed of previous Award recipients, representing a range of sectors and regions across the country. From hundreds of nominations, the jury selects ten career achievement award recipients, three youth award recipients (First Nation, Inuit and Métis), and one lifetime achievement recipient. The jury process is based on the highest standards of fairness, honesty, and respect to all of the highly deserving nominees.

Link to the news release:  http://www.newswire.ca/news-releases/indspire-announces-2016-indspire-awards-recipients-527774991.html